‘Returning’, a flash fiction story by Maureen Weldon

 

RETURNING

 

I walk the busy road, stop at an old wrought iron gate, it squeaks and is open.

Oh how I love these trees, this stony path.

Being early Summer bees are singing and the sweet smell of honeysuckle delights me.

I approach the house. Rose-tinted creeper hides old orange bricks. Bright fuchsias slouch on either side of a green wooden hall-door.

“Blacky, is this you? My darling little Blacky-cat. Can you really remember me?”

I hear a whistling, a sound so familiar. My Dad is approaching from the back of the house.  (Will I hide)?

From the kitchen a lovely soft contralto voice hums.

“Mary, is supper nearly ready?” “No Harry, it will take at least another half an hour.”

I am not sure whether to use the old key I have kept so safely all these last ten years?

 

Maureen Weldon

 

[First published on “Rivertrain”, Morelle Smith’s blog, Summer 2014.]

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Paul Beech
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 04:24:41

    Maureen, ‘Returning’ is a very fine piece of poetic prose. Brief maybe, but so atmospheric and charged with feeling that we are truly moved.

    My very best,

    Paul

    Reply

  2. Maureen Weldon
    Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:19:01

    Thank you Paul for publishing it. I very much enjoyed writing it.

    Maureen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

