Shag Tobacco

In my wee poem below I try to convey a certain feeling that comes over me sometimes, wandering the banks of the River Weaver.

Best Wishes to you all for 2015.

 

SHAG TOBACCO

 

A wisp of shag tobacco, perhaps?

A balloon adrift in the valley,

self-esteem a snapped mooring.

 

So the willowed water’s edge I wander,

sun glaring from plankton depths,

brain percolating,

florescent fungus twitching with broom.

 

Humble I connect.

Proud and the poetry eludes me.

A wisp of shag tobacco, perhaps?

 

Paul Beech

 

Copyright © Paul Beech 2015

[First published on the author’s blog, Grandy’s Landing.]

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Weldon
    Jan 30, 2015 @ 13:16:06

    Paul Beech’s “SHAG TOBACCO” what a beautiful poem. The alliteration of, “So the willowed water’s edge I wander” But maybe it is the lines ” Humble I connect. / Proud and the poetry eludes me.” because I believe these lines to be so true.

    Reply

  2. Paul Beech
    Jan 31, 2015 @ 14:22:03

    Maureen, thank you. My best ideas for poetry and prose come to me when least expecting it, when simply feeling “at one” with nature and the universe. The “shag tobacco” metaphor popped into my head whilst wandering the riverbank one hot summer’s day. So glad you like the poem.

    Yours,

    Paul

    Reply

Leave a Reply

